E. Michael Helms Author

Home Books Blog Contact Links

Michael Helms turned down a chance to play college baseball, and joined the Marine Corps after high school graduation.  He served with the 2nd Battalion, 4th Marines (“The Magnificent Bastards”) in 1967-68 during some of the fiercest fighting of the Vietnam War.

Helms is the author of The Proud Bastards, a memoir of boot camp and his tour in Vietnam.  It has remained in print for over twenty years. The Private War of Corporal Henson, a fictionalized sequel dealing with PTSD, was published in August 2014.

His book, Of Blood and Brothers: A Novel of the Civil War, Book One, was published in September 2013.  The Concluding Civil War Saga of the Malburn Brothers, Book Two was published in March 2014.

The first book in his Mac McClellan mystery series, Deadly Catch, was published in November 2013.  Deadly Ruse was published in November 2014.  Coming in January 2016 will be Deadly Dunes.

When asked about writing, Helms said, “Writing is a love/hate relationship.  For me, it’s an obsession.  If I’m not writing, I feel that I’m not doing what I need to be doing.  When I’ve finished writing a manuscript I feel relief and satisfaction, but also a sense that there’s another story to be told, and I start on my next project.”

A writer and editor, Helms enjoys playing the guitar, canoeing, hiking, and bird watching with his wife.  They live in the Upstate of South Carolina in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

A member of Mystery Writers of America, International Thriller Writers, Military Writers Society of America, Third Marine Division Association, Disabled American Veterans, and Sons of Confederate Veterans.

E. Michael Helms

Author of Historical Fiction

and a Mystery Series

Vietnam War Memoir

Civil War Series

Mac McClellan Mystery Series